Visa Rules in USA

When coming to the United States, or any other country, the one shall consider issuing a visa if needed. However, it is important to mention that the citizens of some countries have legal permission to enter the United States without the issuance of a visa under a Visa Waiver Program.

A recently established Visa Waiver Program enables the citizens of certain countries to enter the United States without a visa for the period that does not exceed 90 days. The countries that are the part of the program include Australia, Andorra, Austria, Brunei, Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Monaco, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom.

The program membership might be obtained by anyone who passes the online registration process via the Electronic System for Authorization (ESTA). After the document is issued, it is valid for 2 years and permits the members of the program to come to the United States under the specific regulations that shall be discussed and met by those coming to the country.

Two types of visas are valid on the United States: Immigrant Visa that is applicable for the permanent stay and Non-Immigrant Visa that is applicable for the temporary stay in the country (tourism, business, or studying).

Moreover, Canada, Cayman, Mexico, The Turks and Caicos Islands, Bermuda citizens may come to the United States without a visa on a legal basis as well.

Notably, there are a couple of regulations that shall be met by the citizens of those countries:

Those that enter the United States under a visa-free program are allowed to stay for the period of no longer than 90 days;

Bermudians and Canadians might enter the country for the period that does not exceed 6 months.

The citizens of Palau, the Marshall Islands, and the Federated States of Micronesia may enter the United States with the study or business purposes without a visa.

Notably, recently the citizens of Libya, Iran, Syria, Somalia, Venezuela, North Korea, and Yemen were officially restricted from a visa issuance right after the proclamation signed by Donald Trump on December 4th, 2017.